Today we’re gonna party like it’s 1999!

It was supposed to be a new year for us, new stadium, new pitching, new ridiculous salaries that only we could pay, but after this past weekends heart-wrenching sweep by the Sox, I think it’s time for a little throw-back action. Ten years ago- maybe it was chemistry, maybe it was fate, but it was full of hotties and full of wins! I bring you the hotties of yester-year and the team I still wish was drenched in pin-stripes! Your 1999 New York Yankees!

Paul O’Neill
Was it the gold chains, was it the appearance in one of my favorite Seinfeld episodes, was it his 19 homers, 110 RBIs or .285 batting average? We’ll never know!
mv5bmtawmte0odc5njfeqtjeqwpwz15bbwu2mde2ndcznw_v1_sx268_sy400_

Jorge Posada
Long before “Hip Hip Jorge!” there was just a man ready to stand with Yogi as one of the finest catchers to ever grace the NY stage!
jorgeChuck Knoblauch
18 home runs, 28 stolen bases, and .292 batting average in 1999, I’ll take it!
ChuckDerek Jeter
The man, the myth, the legend.  What can I say that hasn’t already been said.  At age 25, arguably his best season in the majors, 219 hits, 24 homers, 102 RBIs, and an insane .349 batting average… Number 2 in my program, number 1 in my heart!

jeterjeter2Scott Brosius
Brosius the Ferocious!  Golden Glove winner in 1999.  Never seen without a smile!
brosiusBernie Williams
Slightly more successful 1999 than in his subsequent music career, stood out with his 202 hits, 24 homers, 115 RBIs, and sick .342 batting average.
13williams600Alfonso Soriano
Didn’t see any action till September in 99, but it was well worth the wait for those knee socks!
sorianoAndy Pettitte
The sexiest hefty lefty with a butt-chin ever to pitch! His 14 wins weren’t too shabby either!

pettite1Roger Clemens
Roids or no roids, the man could pitch!
147321281

Your trip down hottie memory lane…  costing a mere 89 million, compared to 2009’s 210 mill… I’m willing to skim the fat (A-Rod, Damon, Sabathia, Teixeira) to return to the glory days!

10 thoughts on “Today we’re gonna party like it’s 1999!

  1. I will confess to tearing a picture of Jeter out of Sports Illustrated and taping it to my dorm room wall during the 1999 season. That’s about as close as I ever got to rooting for the Yankees.

    • Was it the shirtless picture with A-Rod and some other studly guys? Yeah, I may or may not have that picture stashed away somewhere. lol

  2. I still say that Paul O’Neill looked better in a Reds uni.

    Good God, Pettite’s stare gets me every time! Damn.

  3. Aah, 1999. I remember the year well. I was young and impressionable and the pinnacle of sporting hotness was the Australian Football League. Brodie Holland was yet to make us girls fan ourselves since he was probably about 14, a young footballer called Shane Crawford had a gorgeous full head of hair and looked fine in brown shorty shorts, and NRL players didn’t look like bulls on ‘roids or, to our knowledge, pack sexually harrass 19-year-olds. Ah… good times!

Leave a comment