There’s No Place Like Home

 

I have really enjoyed the Olympics this year, as I do every time they come back around. I’ve watched a lot of my favorites, like gymnastics and swimming/diving, as well as some others, like beach volleyball, track and field, and fencing. I have been impressed overall by the athletes’ dedication and drive, and jealous of their athleticism and fitness at the same time. But I started thinking tonight about how long they’ve been over there, and how long until they get back, and I realized they must be homesick in some way. I know if I were in China for over two weeks in early August, I would be missing things. Follow me after the jump to see what they are.

The hometown baseball team – and if you’re a Minnesota Twins’ fan, the excitement that goes along with being in a pennant race. I’d miss taking advantage of the short-lived enjoyment of scoreboard watching and their recent great play that is likely to come to an end just as we hit the home stretch for playoffs.

Pre-season football, and gearing up for another year of hype and excitement. I’m looking forward to following my team, the rivalries and stand-out players, and learning how to play Fantasy Football with the Ladies… whoo-hoo!

Summer home cooking, like barbeque chicken wings, hamburgers, watermelon, and a cool drink on the deck. (although I hear they have great take-out Chinese at these Olympics!)

[rockyou id=120618210&w=400&h=300]

Getting ready for back to school, in some form or fashion. I love that feeling of getting organized, having a fresh start, and looking forward to something new. There’s nothing better than a fresh box of 64 Crayolas.

So, you tell me, what would you miss? Or, what do you think the Olympians are missing – like Michael Phelps, Shawn Johnson, or Tyson Gay? Sure, nothing beats the thrill of representing your country, winning a medal (or even just competing at your best), and traveling the world. But there really is no place like home.

5 thoughts on “There’s No Place Like Home

  1. I’ll tell you what I don’t miss – ESPN. I haven’t watched tWWL (except for Browns-Giants last night) and it’s been fantastic. I wish Olympic sports could be on all year round in the mornings while I eat breakfast before going to work.

  2. Hear, hear Pam! I absolutely loved watching that kid win wrestling gold this morning – made my freshly applied mascara run!

  3. I don’t know if this is at all useful or relevant, just reading the bit about costumes you found, I am a Ruby Slipper replica maker. I’m taking it up myself to let Wizard of Oz fans know that I’m out here and making ruby slippers to the exact resemblance, and not just the Ruby colour, owned by the Wicked which is the East, but a pair in Ocean Aqua, owned by the Good which is of the South, and in Emerald green, owned by daughter of the Wizard himself.

    They are tuely amazing, if yourself or anyone else would like to see the stunning shoes, please do email me.
    jennadwyer@hotmail.com

Leave a comment