Ladies… Hero: Brendan Burke

This article is a long one.

It’s a long one, and it’s an important one, and it’s the only article from a major media outlet that has ever made me cry.

By coming out, Brendan Burke is standing up and showing the entire LGBTQA sports community a level of courage that very few other athletes have ever shown. And by accepting him and supporting him and loving him, his father is sending the message that there’s nothing to be afraid of with gay athletes. That having a gay man in the clubhouse is no worse than having a black man there or a Jewish man there, which is to say, there’s nothing wrong with it at all.

And you know, maybe as a queer girl and as a Maple Leafs fan, I’m biased. But unlike homophobia, my bias won’t hurt anybody.

So congratulations to Brendan Burke, my hero of the year.

Brendan and his father Brian

4 thoughts on “Ladies… Hero: Brendan Burke

  1. I made the mistake of reading this article on the train home, and started crying so hard about halfway through that the conductor asked me if I was okay.

  2. Oh, Crane, I’m so glad you posted this! *sniff*

    Brian Burke may have a little trouble building a winning franchise in Toronto right now, but when it comes to building a strong, accepting and loving family, he’s brilliant.

  3. Wow, what and incredible and inspirational article. And I have never been so proud of our Miami hockey program as I am right now. I hope other teams, amatuer and pro, will look to them as an example.

  4. I am trying to find the words to respond to this article. To say something profound. Mainly I’m just speechless. It was great! I wonder, how long till I can expect something like this from baseball? Congrats Brendan!

Leave a Reply

