Friday Foodie… New York Edition with a Pumpkin Ale Showdown

While the NLCS got into full swing last night I’ve got my mind set on one thing… my boys in blue and the kick off of the ALCS.  In honor of my Bronx Bombers finally not pooping the bed in the post season for the first time in ages,  I’m here showing a little Friday Foodie love!

New York makes me think of a million things, The Yankees, Sinatra, Mad Men, Seinfeld, the Empire State Building, Lady Liberty and a yummy pizza pie … so here in perfect tailgate/baseball watching form… is an insane pizza dip that is so yummy and easy, perhaps Kate Hudson is preparing one now for A-Rod in celebration of his first game win!

Time to head to the kitchen!

1 8 oz container cream cheese, softened

1/2 c sour cream

1 t oregano

1/4 t garlic powder

1/8 t crushed red pepper

1/2 c chopped pepperoni

1/4 c chopped green onion

1/2 c chopped green pepper

1/2 c mozzarella cheese

1/2 c pizza sauce

DSCF3213

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix the cream cheese and sour cream together in a bowl.

Add oregano, garlic powder and crushed red pepper and spread along the bottom of a pie dish.

DSCF3219

Spread pizza sauce on top.  Sprinkle pepperoni, green onion and green pepper on top.

DSCF3222

Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and top with cheese.

DSCF3228

Continue baking for 5 minutes.

Let cool for a few minutes and serve with chips.  That’s right.. CHIPS!  You don’t bring sand to the beach and you don’t bring veggies to a heart attack in a bowl.

DSCF3233

Warning- this dip will go fast and people will hover over it until the last gob of goo is gone!

Also, feel free to add whatever other pizza toppings you prefer into the top layer, no recipe is set in stone!  I definitely use more cheese than called for!

Fall is my favorite time of year for countless reasons… not the least of which is the addition to pumpkin to everything from lattes, pancakes, and the most glorious of beverages… BEER!

DSCF3236

I can’t tell you the disappointment felt after purchasing a six pack, of what was supposed to be Pumpkin Ale, racing home and popping the top, only to discover that I was bamboozled.  I do not want the epic failure of this brewery, who lured me into their beverage with strategically placed pumpkins on the label, to find its way into the hands of our readers, so I’ve rounded up a sampling and done the tasting for you… tough work!

This is by no means a definitive list… I saw a few more I’d like to taste test!

I take my beer drinking pretty seriously… so make sure your beer is as cold as possible and poured into a glass to let it breathe!

Jack’s Pumpkin Spice Ale – B+

Light and crisp beer with a subtle cinnamon and nutmeg finish.  Has a great amber pumpkin color and is slightly fruity.  This is a great beer for people who don’t like beer… that ain’t me!  But still pretty good. Impressed that it’s from Michelob.

Blue Moon Harvest Moon Pumpkin Ale – B-

Dark ale color, heavier body.  More spice on the front end but nothing good left on the taste buds after.  Honestly, I was super disappointed in this beer.  I leave the glass half-full (do you like that optimism!) and move on to the next!

Dogfish Head Punkin Ale – A-

Great ale flavor- true pumpkin going on here.  Less spice than the last but more complex flavor.  I wouldn’t throw Dog Fish outta bed, but I wouldn’t go back for more. I do like that it’s Punkin though!

Buffalo Bill’s Brewery, American’s Original Pumpkin Ale – A

Light color, tons of flavor on the front and back end.  Tons of nutmeg going on.  This beer is delightful- each sip is fulfilling and has terrific carbonation.  I’m diggin this for sure!

Post Road Pumpkin Ale-  A

Pouring this beer, the color made me want to believe in its pumpkiny goodness.  Great cinnamon smell and earthy taste… oh man! The Brooklyn Brewery knocked this outta the park!

Imperial Pumking – A+

Highest alcohol content, a smell of pumpkin pie and an aggressive taste… I’m in love!  The caramel malt shines through and leaves you wanting more. It advertised pumpkin and it delivered!

All others muted…  Imperial Pumking declared – winner winner chicken dinner!!!

reali_big

I will defnitely be hitting up Post Road and American’s Original as they rock and are a seriously close second!

3 thoughts on “Friday Foodie… New York Edition with a Pumpkin Ale Showdown

  1. Thanks for reviewing Pumpkin beer, I’ve been wanting to try some, but I’m always afraid to buy some for fear that it will be gross.
    Also that dip looks super tasty, and I think I’ll be making next time I have a sports party.
    I agree with the line that you don’t bring veggies to a heart attack in a bowl, although, i did have celery with my buffalo chicken dip last week.

  2. I agree, Harvest Moon sucks. I love pumpkin and Blue Moon’s seasonals but was SO disappointed in it. Good to hear that there are some quality pumpkin ales out there. I will have to look for them now.

    Also, even though it’s not a pumpkin ale, it is an autumn seasonal and my raison d’etre, I highly recommend Sam Adam’s Octoberfest. It’s my abs. fave beer and I am so glad I can drink it again. Hooray fall!

Leave a Reply

