An exercise in drawing cartoon hearts.

So by now, you may have seen this profile of Saints linebacker Scott Fujita.

If you’re me, you’ve now spent the last twenty minutes drawing hearts around his name while daydreaming about skipping through New Orleans hand-in hand and dispensing bon mots about social justice and equality.

Then again, if you’re a normal person, you thought ‘Huh, cool.’ and went on with your daily life.

Let’s just jot down the reasons why Scott Fujita is my new boyfriend who just doesn’t know it yet, shall we?

-He’s pro-choice, and gets the choice aspect of it down pat, unlike, say, the Tebows:

“The idea of focusing on the family – who wouldn’t agree with that?” he told The New York Times. “But the means of doing so, he and I might not see eye to eye all the way.” Fujita was adopted, and his biological mother was a teenager when he was born. “I’m just so thankful she had the courage and the support system to be able to carry out the pregnancy,” Fujita said. “I wouldn’t expect that of everybody.”

-He heartily endorses equality and GLBT rights, but continues to insist that locker rooms aren’t a bastion of homophobia.

“I think I have an opinion, that I wish was shared by everybody, but I honestly believe that it’s shared by more [football players] than we know because a lot of people just won’t speak out about it.”

-Specifically, my boy Scott is all about gay adoption, and gave the Huffington Post an interview that made my liberal heart go pitter-pat.

I asked myself, what that is really saying is that the concern with one’s sexual orientation or one’s sexual preference outweighs what’s really important, and that’s finding safe homes for children, for our children. It’s also saying that we’d rather have kids bounce around from foster home to foster home throughout the course of their childhood, than end up in a permanent home, where the parent, whether that person’s single or not, gay or straight. Either way, it doesn’t matter. It’s a home that’s going to be provided for a kid who desperately needs a home. As an adopted child, that measure really bothered me. It just boggles my mind because good, loving homes for any child are the most important thing.

-He has a Political Science degree from Berkely and wants to be a public school teacher after he retires from football. THE MAN WANTS TO TEACH THE CHILDREN, PEOPLE.

-He’s adopted, and his adoptive father is Japanese-American. Said father was born in an internment camp, and Scott still gets het up about the lack of discussion about the internment camps in the American education system. Scott. Buddy. I’m with you. Get me on a rant about what we don’t teach in American History and I will yell for days.

-Oh, and he’s an active supporter of breast cancer research and supports an orphanage in New Orleans. Also, he leaps tall buildings in a single bound and saves old ladies from purse snatchers.

You guys, I think I’m in love.

7 thoughts on “An exercise in drawing cartoon hearts.

  1. Gorgeous, well-spoken, kind, open-minded, coordinated, educated, strong. *fans self* Yowza. To quote Liz Lemon, I want to go to there.

    Also, I just read your tags for this post. Ingenious!

  2. I swear, it’s like someone designed the perfect football player for me: tough, smart, liberal, and a Saint. Oh, it’s amazing. I’m SO glad to have him!

  3. I saw a little piece ESPN did about him a few years ago and really took a liking to him. Nice to see him getting some more attention. :)

    I am with you on the teaching of American history. It seems they only want to teach the positive things–glossing over black eyes like internment camps. We should be teaching facts not propaganda.

Leave a Reply

