Hit & Run: A is for Awesome

I’m in an abusive relationship.  I give my all to it, my blood, my sweat, my tears, and if I’m lucky, I get a crumb of affection in return.  It’s a relationship into which I’ve poured countless amounts of money and tons of my time.  I get beaten up, but I come right back for more.

And you all know that I’m talking about my relationship with the Mets.  Tuesday night, I went to Philadelphia and reveled in the 7 run lead they immediately got.  However, those damn Phillies chipped away all night, and in the 13th inning, finally beat the Mets.  But yesterday was a new game, and the Mets were the ones who, down 3-1, came back to win 6-3, thanks to two Carlos Delgado HRs and a timely double by Daniel Murphy.

The Yankees continue their slide into putridness (yes, it’s a word.  I checked!), losing their second straight to the Red Sox, 11-2.  The big blows came in the 8th inning, where the Sox scored 7 times to put the Yankees away.  Dustin Pedroia had a grand slam in that inning.

Meanwhile, the Rays took care of business against the Blue Jays, letting a Carlos Pena HR stand as they win 1-0.  Matt Garza pitched 7 2/3 of shutout ball.  What did the Twins get for him again??  (The Ray in that picture is Justin Ruggiano.

Over in the NL, everything was going swimmingly for the Brewers, until the Cardinals said, “Uh uh, not in our house!”  With 4 runs in the 8th, the Cardinals go on to beat the Brewers 5-3.  Ryan Ludwick hit his 32nd HR of the year.

And I’m ending this post on a totally random note.  This guy below is Brandon Vera, and he’s a UFC fighter.  Ain’t he cute?

The BF sent me this pic a few nights ago, because he likes the t-shirt (it’s the Filipino flag).  I took one look and said, “Yes, what a nice tshirt.”

Everyone: have a great weekend, and stay safe.

3 thoughts on “Hit & Run: A is for Awesome

  1. Garza is not that good. We just can’t hit him. Our offense is that pathetic.

    And how about mentioning our guy? Purcey, in just his fourth major league start, goes the distance, giving up 5 hits and getting 11Ks. And we couldn’t get him the win. A heartbreaking loss in a season of heartbreak.

  2. Oh, and I forgot this:
    “For the first time, he did not walk a batter. He reached a three-ball count once, on the final hitter he faced. Of his 92 pitches, only 22 were balls.”

    And he takes THE LOSS????

Leave a Reply

