OPENING DAY!!! OPENING DAY!!!

For those of you who have taken the day off in order to fully emerse yourselves in Opening Day festivities, here are the schedules for today (all times Eastern.)  I plan on catching some NL Central goodness with Brewers/Cubs and then Cardinals/Rockies.  Then I think I’ll have to make due with Angels/Twins and finally I’m pumped about the pitching match-up in Astros/Padres.

National League
Brandon Webb and Aaron Harang face off in the Arizona-Cincinnati matchup at 2:10

Hottie Ben Sheets takes on Hot Head Carlos Zambrano in a Brewers-Cubs game at 2:20 (ESPN2, WGN)

Washington and Chico travel to Philly to face sweetheart Brett Myers at 3:05

Johan Santana makes his major league debut in Blue & Orange as the Mets take on Hendrickson and the Marlins at 4:10

A match-up of smokin’ proportions is happening in St. Louis as Adam Wainwright takes on Jeff Francis of Colorado at 4:15

Ian Snell and Tom Glavine (love him) face off as the Pirates visit the Braves at 7:10

Another smokin’ match-up as Roy Oswalt and the Astros visit Jake Peavy and the Padres at 10:00 (ESPN2)


American League

Gil Meche and Justin Verlander meet in the first game of the day as the Royals head to the Tigers at 1:00

Halladay and Wang face off in the Bronx as the Blue Jays travel to the Yankees at 1:05 (ESPN)

In a game that just makes me sad, the Rays travel to Baltimore to face the Orioles at 3:05. Poor Shields and Guthrie.

The Big Boys pitch in Cleveland as Mark Buerhle and the White Sox take on CC Sabathia and the Indians at 3:05

Kevin Millwood and Erik Bedard take the mound for Texas and Seattle at 6:40

Jered Weaver and Livan Hernandez face off in an Angels-Twins match up at 7:05 (ESPN2)

15 thoughts on “OPENING DAY!!! OPENING DAY!!!

  1. Rays/Orioles… aw. Look at them. How sweet.

    Also, I was actually typing something about Josh Beckett kicking everyone’s asses on Tuesday anyway when I remembered that Daisuke is actually starting. Is half of my brain really that behind, or am I just tired?

  2. Minda-that’s a pretty awesome card.

    Tiff-I feel like this is my fault. See what happens when you jump on a bandwagon? Sigh…

  3. Thank you, thank you, thank you baseball for coming back to us. It’s been a long winter. I’d also like to thank the east coast rain storm that rained out the Yankees. Instead of partaking in Opening Day festivities (and a bunch of adult beverages), I was hard at work listening to my Tigers. A fair trade in my world, even if they did lose. Ah, baseball. I missed you so.

  4. SA – it’s not your fault! I always worry about the player whose shirt I chose to wear to the park…but I wore Carlos Guillen and he went 3 for 5. I think he’s going to have a monster year.

    Minda, I give your Royals a lot of credit. I think you’re going to be the sneaky team of the Central!! It’s going to be a good year.

  5. Thanks, tiff, that means a lot!! Watch out for KC’s pitcher tomorrow (Brian Bannister). He is SMART. Kind of Maddux-like. He is also my favorite Royal!

Leave a Reply

